Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

Experience WCSJ2017 through videos and student stories

Applications now accepted for regional travel fellowships to attend ScienceWriters2018

WCSJ2017 partners launch international program fund

A newsletter for friends of CASW

Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

In Focus

CASW honors extraordinary writing on medical science with the annual Victor Cohn prize. Nominations for the 19th annual award, to be given in October at ScienceWriters2018, will be accepted through July 31. Nominations, writing samples and letters of support may now be submitted online. Please check the ... more


English version Se invita a escritores de ciencia de América Latina y el Caribe a solicitar becas de viaje regionales para asistir a ScienceWriters2018, una conferencia que se realizará del 12 al 16... more
Version en español Science writers throughout Latin America and the Caribbean are invited to apply for regional travel fellowships to attend ScienceWriters2018, a conference to be held Oct. 12-16 in... more
May 24, 2018 — Diane McGurgan, whose unparalleled service to the science writing community spans more than four decades, will retire as administrator of the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing... more
Five women with backgrounds ranging from astronomy, mathematics and biology to investigative journalism and film have been awarded prestigious Taylor/Blakeslee University Fellowships from the Council... more
May 7, 2018—The organizers of the 10th World Conference of Science Journalists are pleased to announce plans for a suite of activities to extend the impact of the October 2017 conference in San Francisco... more
 WASHINGTON, DC--The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing (CASW) has honored two pioneering women science writers who have worked tirelessly to improve the communication of science to the... more
(April 2, 2018) Elizabeth Whitman (@elizabethwhitty), a master's student at the Columbia University School of Journalism, has won a $5,000 special reporting grant from CASW's Taylor/Blakeslee... more
(January 11, 2018)—Although the 2017 World Conference of Science Journalists is history, the experience and content of the conference continues. CASW was pleased to join with our conference partners in... more
Learn more about what CASW and our partners are doing, through a new newsletter for our friends and all supporters of excellence in science writing. Announcing CASW Spotlight.
After almost seven decades at The San Francisco Chronicle, former CASW President David Perlman will finally close his reporter's notebook on August 4, retiring at the age of 98 after an accomplished... more


Subscribe to CASW News