Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

Clark/Payne award deadline June 30

CASW invites science writers age 30 and under to submit entries for the 2020 Evert/Clark Seth Payne Award. The award recognizes outstanding reporting and writing by a young journalist covering any field of science. 

Entries may be submitted online and must be completed by JUNE 30, 2020.

The Clark/Payne Award is intended to encourage young science writers. The 2020 winner will receive $1,000 and a certificate. 

Established in memory of Ev Clark, a veteran journalist at Business Week, The New York Times and Newsweek, and Seth Payne, his long-time friend and colleague at Business Week, the Clark/Payne Award has been presented since 2006 at the ScienceWriters conference, organized jointly by CASW and the National Association of Science Writers. A virtual recognition is planned for this year's award winner.

This will be the fourth year that this highly competitive award is fully managed and bestowed by CASW. The National Press Foundation transferred the Evert Clark Fund to CASW in 2017. The fund was created through private donations, and entries are judged by a panel of senior science journalists.

For submission instructions and more information, see the Clark/Payne Award page. To make a donation to the Evert Clark fund or another CASW award or fellowship, see CASW's support page.