Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

A newsletter for friends of CASW

Scientist-writer conversations to be featured at New Horizons briefings

ComSciCon workshop at ScienceWriters2019

Registration opens for ScienceWriters2019

Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

In Focus

The winner of the 2019 Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award, an annual prize for young science journalists, is Ryan Cross, assistant editor at Chemical & Engineering News.


Online registration for ScienceWriters2019, featuring the 57th presentation of CASW's New Horizons in Science briefings, is now open at The conference will take place... more
Planetary scientist Steven W. Squyres, lead scientist for the long-lived Mars rovers Spirit and Opportunity, has been selected by the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing (CASW) to present the... more
Congratulations, WCSJ2019 Travel Fellows! Among the 100 recipients from 53 countries who won travel fellowships to attend WCSJ2019, the 11th World Conference of Science Journalists, was a group of travel... more
Readers are demanding more intelligent nonfiction books, according to the trade publication The Bookseller. Alex Preston writes in The Guardian, “These uncertain times have seen a renewed interest in... more
Two recent Taylor/Blakeslee Graduate Fellows have been awarded CASW’s first Taylor/Blakeslee Mentored Science Journalism Project Fellowships, small grants for independent reporting projects that come with... more
Six talented journalists with experience in research, writing and policy have been awarded prestigious Taylor/Blakeslee University Fellowships for 2019-20 from the Council for the Advancement of... more
May 7, 2018—The organizers of the 10th World Conference of Science Journalists are pleased to announce plans for a suite of activities to extend the impact of the October 2017 conference in San Francisco... more
Subscribe to CASW News