Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

Clark/Payne award deadline June 30

NOTE: This deadline has passed.

CASW invites 30-and-under science writers to submit entries for the 2017 Evert/Clark Seth Payne Award, which will recognize outstanding reporting and writing by a young journalist covering any field of science. 

Entries may be submitted online and must be completed by JUNE 30, 2017.

The Clark/Payne Award is intended to encourage young science writers. The 2017 winner will receive $1,000 and expenses to attend the 2017 World Conference of Science Journalists in San Francisco. The award was established in memory of Ev Clark, a veteran journalist at Business Week, The New York Times and Newsweek, and Seth Payne, his long-time friend and colleague at Business Week and a founder of the award.

The Clark/Payne Award has been presented since 2006 at the meeting of science writers that is organized jointly by CASW and the National Association of Science Writers. CASW and NASW have joined forces to organize the 10th World Conference, which will replace the U.S. science writers' meeting this year. Award winners will be recognized at a reception on Octover 26, the opening day of WCSJ2017.

This will also be the first year that the award is fully managed and bestowed by CASW. The National Press Foundation, which had managed the Evert Clark Fund, transferred the fund to CASW in April. Former Business Week senior science correspondent John Carey has managed judging and will continue his volunteer involvement.

For submission instructions and more information, see the Clark/Payne Award page.